TSAS #39: Which approach do you take?

Ongoing Debate: Does your target market define your personal brand or does your personal branding define your target market?

Hello SAS Community,

Today's Question: Does your target market define your personal brand?

In this week's edition, we cover:

  • Ongoing Debate: Does your target market define your personal brand or does your personal branding attract your target market?

  • The Passion Paradox: What if you want to be known for one thing as it brings you business but also does another thing that you really love? (Next Issue)

  • You have a FREE GIFT inside. Thank you!!!

  • Reading Time: 4 mins

A question came across online last week where someone posed this that I felt the urge to write about. Does your target market define your personal brand or does your personal branding define your target market?This is an ongoing debate in the online world. Which one comes first?Does the chicken or egg come in the first kind of situation?When you are just starting, alongside your 9-5, this can get tricky. I have been there. I started several ventures in the beginning. I researched the market to find out what sells. I also came across people who are "accidental entrepreneurs."They didn't plan on selling something but they started voicing their passion and stories. At one point, their audience asked them to sell a product around that topic. Is there a right or wrong way?Of course, you are going to find over a million different answers online. But, I want to give you my take from a personal experience. Not sure if I told you but for over two decades I have been a graphic designer. The easiest thing to do after I quit my job was to offer a similar type of work.It was not that difficult for me to land gigs as a freelancer. Because every business needs a logo, banner, or brochure for its website, right?That does not make every business owner memorable like Apple or Nike. Although, that is a much different angle.I was even hired as a brand coach for a 7-figure Marketer who was selling network marketing secrets the new digital way. No regrets about that decision because honestly, I learned a LOT.It taught me how to set up email automation, sales funnels, and webinars.

The problem was that learning didn't last very long because I got busy. It was shocking on how many calls I would hear, "this doesn't represent me." How do I make myself more attractive to prospective clients?

It didn't daunt me after I left the program as a coach, how much gap there was between who I was and how others saw me.I was fixing their looks on the outside but their internal foundation was a BIG mess. They had zero clarity on who they were and how they want to be positioned for their audience.Their representation seems false for not taking the time to define it. The problem was much bigger than "I need a shiny logo fix."

Some of the symptoms were the underlying causes because of those quick fixes.Their personalities looked different across platforms.They were distracted by shiny objects and became moving targets.They felt insecure in their voice, and content, and delusional in their marketing efforts.Imagine a weak home foundation while spending money on installing new windows. The irony– I was stuck designing 45 hours a week and there was a pit in my stomach. Basically, I got myself another 9-5.

self-awareness

A couple of months later, I had to completely step back, and slow down. I was blunt with the founder that she was doing her clients a disservice by not getting clear on who they are first. The program was teaching defining your target market, get clients, and making money. I saw firsthand how conflicted those clients were feeling internally. Because you can't serve someone if you don't know who you were meant to serve. I felt like a complete fraud and wasn't actually solving the real issue.I didn't become aware until I realized how much it affected my own growth. My bank account was growing but not my mindset. I was running away from reality and thought perhaps another gig, job, or client would fix it. Again, it is easy to become a moving target instead of being clear on your aim. It daunted me that many of these experts "online marketers" are also trapped.

They are not seeing things clearly from the inside out and outside in.Because they were taught to sell, market, and be visible but not walk the talk.For a while, it may work and things may seem like it's working. But, then it stops when you feel something is off and it throws off your momentum. That off-centered feeling sometimes can pile up into massive confusion when others approach you for the wrong solution.This conflict stems from not defining YOU first. What are your values? Aspirations? Desires? Dreams? Traits? Strengths?Those things can't be vague or be on the back burner. Of course, anyone can be winging it but this doesn't cut it when you play the long game. I tried for a long time until the definition of insanity became real.

You are not making perfect decisions but making them from an empowered place.And that's a big difference when you can play to your strengths and lean into your gut.It holds your FLAG on the ground firm or else will get swooped by the wind. They help you avoid "FALSE START."Those questions can haunt us later down the road when the house falls apart.It may not happen, today, or tomorrow.Life has a funny way of bringing us back to BASICS. Don't believe me?Try building your dream home without a blueprint.Business and career paths are not that different.

Not defining who you are first before trying to attract clients is a recipe for "What the hell I am doing with my life?" 😊 Why this does not work?Well, for two reasons. 1. You can't fix the external view when you don't have clarity on the inside. 2. You become what you intentionally put in. Example: You are single and want to attract the right partner. But, you look in the mirror and feel bad about how you look. You try to fix and hide behind the clothes and fancy shoes. You might find yourself going on many dates but never seem to settle. The part that gets tricky is when you are not in alignment and acceptance of who you are.

I am seeing marketers teach this common practice where they try to fit the round peg in a square hole. That makes me wonder why so many people struggle with finding niches and nailing their message. If you want to be seen as someone in those specific minds then you are in control of those decisions and associations. You don't walk into an Apple store and expect Windows functionality. You know exactly who they are building it for and what they aim to bring change in the world, "simplicity."So, for this week, I would love for you to think about how are you achieving clarity within inside-out and outside-in views.

Hey, so real quick. I know you have been on my list for quite some time. I appreciate every minute of your time. As a thank you, I am offering you a 30-MIN DISCOVERY CALL with absolutely zero strings attached. I am curious about who you are and would love to know what you are building towards.Stay Humble, my friend.Yours Truly, Humaira"Create a collection of memories. Not distraction"