TSAS #38: The Soloprenuer Dilemma

Are you stuck in this monetization loop?

Hey {first_name},

Today's Question: Are you chasing interest or monetization?

In this week's edition, we cover:

  • Announcement: The Self-Aware Solopreneur Newsletter is now called for short (The SAS Newsletter)

  • My first 3 years of experience as a Solopreneur.

  • Stop getting stuck in the monetization loop and build a stackable interest instead.

  • Reading Time: 4 mins

In my previous newsletter, I shared some of the development that is underway. Honestly, I am super excited about what is to come. We will do a behind-the-scenes to show you how things are shaping.

My first 3 years as a solo business felt like a tunnel vision with no sight at the end. I kept exploring every option thinking I just need to try this one more method. Buy one more course. Sell memberships. Develop a mini course.I never had a shortage of ideas. I never had a "take action" problem either. Because I believe as a business owner, you need to adapt, take action, and learn from every mistake you make.

However, the problem was that I never gave enough time or intention into developing a solid understanding. Understanding who I am at the core level. What core interests can keep me going?What will make me wake up and get excited to do it again the next day? Boredom is a huge side effect of any entrepreneur who thinks they need to chase ideas/niche.

They think they need to fit into a niche. When in reality, it is the other way around. And here's why. It can almost feel like a TRAP!I'll give you an example.

One of my clients was a health coach who was developing a signature program called, "The Metabolic Reset." I decided to give her program a try. I was also interested to test her brand and marketing message. Given how saturated the health industry is, testing and understanding the audience for her program was crucial. So, I battle-tested the program for 6 weeks. Not only did her program work but there was something else I found that was interesting.

As I tracked, journaled, and kept a daily log, I noticed I was suffering from boredom.

Bored

I got bored with the same meals, routine, and exercises.

My mind was focused on changing things frequently.

I was interested in trying different hacks, meal plans, cheat codes, and protein shakes as I wanted to see the results faster.

This was the pattern in my health, relationships, and business. As soon as things got super tough, my brain wanted to escape because I needed results FAST.

It took me a while to adjust and retrain my mind to shift from obsessing over what food to eat to enjoy the process. I was less focused on the journey instead. As a result, I started stressing less about how I looked in the mirror.I started celebrating small wins like...Waking up in the mornings feeling a lot more refreshed or having energy. Increasing my water intake and noticed my ability to think more clearly. It was like a wave effect.

See, I realized that Solopreneurs go through the same dilemma.

They keep thinking they need to keep taking different turns, twists, and angles when in reality they haven't gained clarity around a core interest.

What can you do for the next 5, 10, 15 years that will bring you more fulfillment?

What can you stack on your interest blocks rather than feeling stuck in this monetization loop?

The loop is where most people feel blind-sighted with making decisions every waking hour of their life.

What are you eating?Who do you hang out with?What type of environment do you live in?What type of conversations are you having?What products should you sell?Why should they buy from you?What website colors should you use?What images portray your personality?

There are over a MILLION decisions we make everyday.

And without gaining clarity on the core "interest" we are only a slave to seeing short-term results. The question for this week for you:

"What is the core interest that will keep you engaged, excited, and invested in your growth?"

I would love to hear your answer or perspective.

Thank you so much for reading my weekly insights. I hope you are enjoying this NEW format. More to come in the next few months. Until then, please don't hesitate to reach out and ask me questions.

Stay Humble my friend,

Yours Truly, Humaira

"Create a collection of memories. Not distraction"

- Humaira Akhter